Doctor Who Thing

The Internet's ONLY Dr Who Related Website

Fan Shame

5 Comments

Whizz-Kid

If you grew up a Doctor Who fan, then it’s current popularity and acceptability can seem a bit disconcerting at times; and at others eleven different shades of wrong. Doctor Who was not something you did out in the open, amongst normal people! It was a great and heavy shame which caused our sofa-slump-ruined backs to arch yet further under the pressure. Just a month ago three teen girls (teen girls!! WHAT?!) brazenly, and with no effort made to keep the conversation from the people surrounding them, discussed how they were going to throw a ‘Doctor Who party’. They’d each wear a fez and cook up some fish fingers and custard. It was all I could do to stop myself screaming in their faces ‘You weren’t there, man! Oh you don’t know what it was like back there, in the nineties! I’d read my copy of DWM in the safety of my bedroom lest the eyes of norms should see me with it and cause me to feel vaguely embarrassed! Take your ‘I Heart Tennant’ T-Shirt and shove it up your arse!!!’

But of course I exaggerate.

A bit.

Doctor Who fan girl group

Growing up, I didn’t know any other Doctor Who fans. I don’t recall ever really talking about it with anyone; and this was pre-internet, so there was no online community to argue with over why McCoy was the best/worst thing to ever happen to Who. Young fans today all know what Doctor Who is, and a lot of them watch it and talk about it, online and in actual scary real life. Which is brilliant. And bonkers. This is my little secret that nobody else really cared about, that people made fun of; they laughed at the dodgy effects and rubbish monsters –  and now it can muscle its way up to the number two slot in the American Box Office. HOLY FRAK. That’s how big this thing is now, and not just here, around the world; more and more people seem to be falling for this shows distinctly shonky charm.

This is good.

This is weird.

This sort of feels like it proves all us quiet kids growing up in the seventies, eighties and nineties right. You see, we knew all along this show was special, and now? Well now the rest of the world is starting to see what we see, and that’s amaz… no, weird. That’s still a bit weird.

Of course one day, perhaps even one day quite soon, that popularity will nosedive again. It happened before, it will happen again, there’s no way to prevent it. But right now, oh right now, Doctor Who is not just something isolated boys pore over in their bedrooms, it’s something teenage girls throw parties about.

Doctor Who young fan

Author: Matthew Stott

Writer. http://mrmatthewstott.com/

5 thoughts on “Fan Shame

  1. Having been a fan since I was three in 1970, I can understand your angst about hiding being a Doctor Who fan – but I can go one better – because I am a girl. If you thought it was hard as a male fan it was doubly hard as a girl fan, because we were so few and far between that to have any contact with another fan was vanishingly rare I remember going to a convention in the 1990s and me and my friend were the only women there amongst hundreds of men – very daunting! We were even interviewed as being thatbeing freak women fans!

  2. You got my childhood nailed

Leave a Reply

